Everyone hates Apple

Posted on September 23, 2012

0


UPDATE:  I spent 15 mins speaking to Apple UK’s technical support and have this update for anyone interested -see end of article

In the past I have been able to listen to gripes over the closed-system that Apple uses in maintaining the quality of it’s products and services – like water off a ducks back. But this week with the release of the iPhone 5 and especially iOS6 this position has become indefensible when the changes within the closed system are to the detriment of the user experience.

This would not be so bad if I could just simply roll back to iOS5 on my devices – but having tried 3 times and failing (something fishy going on here) – I have had no joy and it feels as though the upgrade to iOS6 was irreversible.

Did I miss something? Was there an alert that said I would never be able to go to an earlier backup?

I don’t know – but Apple are calling me today, so I hope to find out more.

Maps – bloody maps

So Apple think they can do maps better than Google. I think the blogosphere is full of enough article s on the matter drawing on the conclusion that it has been rushed, there is bad data, and that Apple have no chance in competing with the more experienced Google on the matter.

I just want the old Google App back in my iOS.

YouTube

You might be like me  and don’t always use YouTube – but when I did want to – on my iPad – WHERE WAS THE FRICKING APP???

Without notice, Apple removed it. Or did I miss a dialogue window that said – “any app ever made by Google that we added to iOS for your convenience is now gonna be pulled”?

Apple vs Google

And this is the crux of the issue. Apple are pulling any apps that THEY developed to take advantage of Google technologies. Unless there have been inklings about any infringement in the apps – I do not see why they should be pulled without my permission.

The problem here is that we were given cake – allowed to eat it and have been told that we can’t have any more cake – ever. (cake being the YouTube and Maps app)

Well sorry Apple – but what you have done is bad! Very bad. Any more crap from you like this and we hardcore mac users (not your pliant newbies with more money than sense users) who have been using your products through thick and thin – don’t want to go back to the days of Scully, where innovation was an extra £1000 added to a price tag along with a confused product and service strategy. For all Steve  Jobs’ arrogance and bloody mindedness – at least he stayed focussed and pretty much understood how to put the user first – even if he was dictating to us what we needed before we even knew it.

Yes, I know – there are more important things in life than this. But sometimes you just gotta let it out!

 

UPDATE:

I know some of you are interested in my iOS6 problem. Well it is official (at least from Apple UK technical support). Once you apply an update in iTunes to your iOS device – THERE IS NO WAY BACK.

Like many I thought that the backups that were made would backup not only settings and files, but the OS as well. But this is not the case. It will always default to the last updated OS.

So – if you are running iOS5.x and enjoy the Google Maps experience – the way you can click on a map link or postcode on a web page and have it bring up a map straight into the Google App – and then you can choose a location from your address book and get directions…DON’T UPGRADE.

If you like the fact that there is a built-in YouTube app in iOS5.x – DON’T UPGRADE – you will lose it.

If these two things don’t bother you, and you don’t mind that fact that many places in the new Apple Mapping app don’t exist or are in the wrong place or that when you do a search you don’t get the great results that Google have worked tirelessly for 10 years developing to collect! Then by all means upgrade.

For those of us who have been stung and would like to roll back – I am looking into a few non-official options and will report back.

 

 

 

 

Posted in: Apple, Apps, iOS, iPad