The rot begins? Apple back to its old tricks?

Posted on July 27, 2012

0


So OS X Mountain Lion is now out there. Well whoopie.

I can’t say that I am all that fussed right now about it. I have reminders and notification on my iPad and iPhone. All I need now is to have them go bing, bing and bing again on my desktop for good measure!

Almost as if the iCloud us shouting – OY!! Did you get that message?

Or letting someone else know you just got something, or forgot something – and woe betide if you have the notifications available on your lock screen – then the stranger gets to see a bit of what you were being reminded of.

So no. I am not all the up for my desktop experience being more like my mobile one. I am typing this article on my iPad in what is essentially a desktop task – the iPad just happens to be easier to lug around than my ageing MacBook Pro.

So contrary to the direction that Apple seem to have taken… aren’t I/we not really wanting our mobile experience to be more like our desktop experience instead of the other way round? Microsoft’s surface may be overpriced because it tries to pack-in desktop performance in a tablet…but they may be moving in the right direction. Did I just write that? Damn.

This is a big point guys. But I have digressed enough and will save this discussion for another post.

The return of the bad

So what is this article about? Well it really follows on from my last article abut how Apple, since the death of Jobs, seems not have been taking backward steps.

And a couple of articles have had me worried about this trend.

Did Apple Just Quietly End Development Of Safari For Windows?
http://techcrunch.com/2012/07/25/apple-safari-for-windows-ends/

The Easter Eggs Are Back in OS X—And This One Is Insanely Great
http://gizmodo.com/5929286/the-easter-eggs-are-back-in-os-xand-this-one-is-insanely-great

It looks like some people at Apple are trying to undo the work of Steve Jobs at Apple. I may be overreacting and I hope to be proved wrong, but any attempt to move away from supporting Windows in some form, or returning to days were individuals are credited with work on some software or hardware as mentioned in Gizmodo are bad things.

But we are ‘mac’ users – why do we care about Windows users

I am sure it is no surprise to some of you that the current popularity of Apple products is down to the success of the iPod, iPhone and iPad via iTunes. A process made more open by having iTunes written for windows. Once many Windows users tasted Mac-they never went back, so to speak. So there you have it. We need to support windows just to keep a foot into that channel of business as well as needing to be a more ‘open’ system.

I hated the days of old mac ‘serial’ cables vs rs232 cables on PCs. Let alone all the networking issues and dare I bring up the NuBus cards and multitude of RAM Configurations?

No. We need some foundations and standards that we can share. The world is a more sharing place (even if it is a little less caring nowadays) – so we need to be able to make sure that as many people as possible can have access to some of the great Apple products.

That said, I wonder how many Windows users actually use Safari – especially when Google Chrome is built on the same webkit standards and is probably installed in favour of Safari ‘just ‘cos it is easier’.

However, I still consider this a worrying trend. Keep your antennas peeled.

Credit where credit is due

I am all for people being rewarded for their hard work. But in business we don’t need individuals to be hailed over others, just because at some point they did a good job. We all have good days and bad days, we won’t always have the right answer over someone else’s. And if we were to do this in business, then I think that you could see growth in individuals get stifled.

That’s why we don’t need the public adulation of individuals in the About windows of software, or scrawled on the inside of computer chassis. That should be kept within the business. These guys get paid well, don’t they? And probably pretty well. So I think Jobs was right and that there probably was a serious risk to software and hardware engineers being headhunted.

After all, IMHO, anyone who thrives on the public adulation of their efforts on a project over and above the self-knowledge that they did a good job and have the respect of their peers/work colleagues is no better than a second rate celebrity in Hello magazine.

Posted in: Apple