Goodbye Last.fm radio

Posted on May 8, 2009

0


last.fm has been on my iPhone from day one, just for the radio feature. I thought the idea of listening to favourites and suggested tracks was great while free. Now they want 3 euros a month for the privilege.

Well that is a step too far.

I don’t get to own anything I am listening to – so why should I pay. I have made purchases based on new stuff I heard on last.fm

That is now not going to happen, and they won’t see those associated revenue streams coming from me anymore. I will look elsewhere for my musical inspiration or just buy what I like.

But this is a typical trend that I see. We have been lulled into a false sense of security that artists would like us to listen to their stuff and then based on that – buy their stuff. When actually the music industry is saying – “hey, if you just want to listen to it – you have to pay”

Well I am sorry – but that is not a model I am interested in. Unless you say – pay 3 euros a month to listen and get 50% the cost of any track you download. Now that would be worth it.

Posted in: Using the web